Plastic bags are a waste of money

reusable_bags

When I popped into the shops earlier today, I very nearly – and purposely – didn’t take my reusable bag with me. You heard me; I actually considered buying a plastic bag*. Of course, I changed my mind at the last minute, but it did leave the plastic bag issue on my mind as I did my 5 minute charge through Pick n Pay to get the milk and other necessaries.

While I stood in the queue I noticed that, as per usual, no-one else had brought along their own bags. Everyone was just buying plastic. Now, besides the environmental issues that I’ve discussed many times before, today I pondered why people like wasting their money. Because really, that is what I think they are doing.

I realise the cost of plastic bags is minimal and easily absorbed into the overall cost of the grocery bill, but it adds up. And depending on how often and how much people shop, it can add up fast. Many people don’t reuse that plastic bag either – one trip from the shop to home and that bag goes straight to the trash – which essentially means that people are quite happy to toss away their spare change.

If you don’t believe that the numbers add up, take note of this: in the 2009-2010 business year alone, R174-million in plastic bag levies was collected. One hundred and seventy four million!

I’m not going to get started on the merits of the plastic bag levy or where that money is (or isn’t) going – it’s a post for another day. My question for today is why are people happy to pay for plastic bags when there are perfectly brilliant alternatives? Alternatives that will save money in the long run. Alternatives that keeps people’s money in their pockets. Alternatives that are available to purchase right there at the till.

It’s a no-brainer to me. Stop wasting your hard earned cash. Choose to say no to the plastic bag.

 

* The only reason I nearly bought a bag is because we are running dangerously low on bags to use for our ‘normal’ rubbish (We only have 2 left). I changed my mind because I decided that instead of buying one I will make a plan to get some from my family instead – they all have stockpiles of old bags which I’m sure they’ll be happy to offload onto me.