Subterfuge in the kitchen

There is deception going on in my kitchen in the name of greening. I feel a little uncomfortable about it, so in order to nullify my guilt, I am coming ‘clean’.

Here it is: I repackage green cleaning products into the “known” but non-green equivalents. Gasp! 

Here’s why: My housekeeper is a lovely old lady, very set in her ways, and I’m guessing not too well educated. In her world, there are a limited number of brands that you can/should/must use to do the tasks needed when cleaning a home. Omo or Surf for cleaning clothes. Handy Andy, Domestos, Windowlene, Mr Muscle, Toilet Duck and Sunlight dish wash liquid for cleaning the home. Nothing else is acceptable.

I’ve explained that there are many better alternatives – ones that we all know are better for both her health and the environment – but I’m not certain she a) understands or b) believes me.

Either way, I keep getting requests for all these specific things, even though there are full bottles of green substitutes sitting in the cupboard. I cannot bring myself to buy the chemical brands, so I’ve resorted to buying the green versions, decanting them into the “known, loved and expected” branded bottle and (so far) she’s happy.

And then I’m happy. (Even though I’m technically lying).

You could argue this is a bit of a #firstworldproblem, but seriously, does anyone do this sort of thing in the interests of keeping a green home?